August 11, 2019 - In Our Minds

It’s a question I often ask because, for me, it encompasses two very different notions. First, the performer is motivated to go above and beyond, to succeed as a team and deliver results. Second, the competitive person compares (to last quarter’s results, the other team, the competition…), in a spirit of competition. Competitiveness doesn’t always translate into success. Power doesn’t always come from a competitive spirit. The idea is to identify what drives us, what motivates our actions. What keeps us going, even when the going is tough.

Performance (or grit) is the idea of accomplishing and even surpassing your goals. How the Best of the Best Get Better and Better, a well-crafted piece by the Harvard Business Review, explains that a top performer possesses the same qualities that can make the difference between a top athlete and an Olympic athlete. The competitive person will give in to discouragement, to thoughts of losing, while the performer will look for opportunities and find ways to deliver. When recruiting, it’s important to remember the differences that define talent, but also company or team culture.

Fascinating story from a client

This client’s marketing department is made up of about twenty people, of whom half are elite athletes. These are people who let nothing get in their way – problems, complications, competition – nothing. Their energy is focused on exceeding, and that calls specific management and candidate profiling. In the context of recruitment, it’s important to understand these dynamics. For example, for this particular client, the expert who is not in a communication mode with other specialisations will have some difficulties adapting. Furthermore, if someone is not motivated by overcoming ideas and/or objectives, he/she will find the natural pressure of this kind of context to be very difficult to bear. As a result we will notice a "clash" or a wrong casting towards the cultural fit.

Know yourself and be yourself

Managers who practice self-awareness are free to be themselves and demonstrate their authentic self – therefore cultivating better connections with candidates. When a client says: “I know myself. I’m impatient, and I don’t like repeating myself three times,” what they’re telling us is that they need talent that’s resourceful and autonomous. For this technology company, the cultural contribution is fascinating because it allows the company, which relies heavily on performance, to put together a team capable of revolutionizing their field – and nothing less.

Competitive or performing? It depends on the role.

However, today, the two profiles must be open to learning, trying, and demonstrating that they’re ready to reach their full potential.

Other reads that have inspired me:

Greatness Doesn’t Start With Work/Life Balance – It starts with hard work and a passion for the business

Grit: The power of passion and perseverance

 

Share this article

Compétitif ou performant?

Elisabeth Starenkyj

11 août 2019

-

Dans notre tête

Partagez cet article

C’est une question que je pose souvent car il s’agit pour moi de deux notions bien distinctes : le performant est motivé par ce besoin de toujours aller plus loin, la réussite collective et la livraison d’un résultat, alors que le compétitif se compare (aux résultats du dernier quart, à l’autre équipe, à la compétition…), dans un esprit de concurrence. Être compétitif ne veut pas nécessairement dire être performant! Et performant, ne veux pas dire que l’on n’a pas un esprit de compétition! L’idée, c’est d’identifier notre moteur intérieur, celui qui motive nos actions. Qui nous permet de continuer même quand il faut faire preuve d’effort.

La performance (ou le grit), c’est l’idée d’atteindre ses objectifs et de se surpasser. How the Best of the Best Get Better and Better, un texte bien imagé du Harvard Business Review, énonce à cet effet que le performant possède les qualités qui font la différence entre un athlète de haut niveau et un athlète olympique. C’est-à-dire que là où le compétitif cède au découragement, en se disant qu’il n’arrivera pas à gagner, le performant verra des opportunités et trouvera des solutions pour livrer. En mode recrutement, il faut tenir compte de ces différences qui définissent le talent mais aussi une culture organisationnelle ou d’équipe. 

Cas fascinant chez un client

Le département marketing d’un client avec qui nous travaillons est constitué d’une vingtaine de personnes parmi lesquelles près de la moitié sont des athlètes d’élite. Des gens que rien n’arrête : ni les difficultés, ni la complexité, ni la compétitivité. Leur énergie est axée sur le dépassement et cela appelle un certain type de gestion, tout en profilant un certain type de candidat. Dans le cadre d’un recrutement, il faudra comprendre ces dynamiques. Car chez ce client particulièrement, l’expert technique qui n’est pas en mode communication avec les autres expertises ne survivra pas ou le profil qui n’est pas motivé par le dépassement des idées, des objectifs, trouvera la pression naturelle de ce genre de contexte très difficile à supporter. On assistera à un « clash » ou à un mauvais casting au niveau de l’arrimage culturel.

Se connaitre et s’assumer

Quand les gestionnaires se connaissent, s’assument et se révèlent à nous authentiquement, on arrive à faire de meilleurs arrimages avec les candidats. Un client qui nous dit : « je me connais, je suis impatient, je ne peux pas répéter trois fois » nous guide vers du talent débrouillard et autonome. Dans le cas de cette entreprise en technologie, l’apport de l’arrimage culturel est fascinant car il permet à cette compagnie, qui mise sur la notion de performance, de s’outiller pour se bâtir une équipe qui révolutionnera – rien de moins! – son secteur d’activité.

Compétitif ou performant? Selon le rôle, il est avantageux d’être plus un ou plus l’autre. 

Toutefois, aujourd’hui, les deux profils auront besoin d’être ouvert à apprendre, à pratiquer, et faire preuve de positivisme pour…. réussir à leur plein potentiel!

Au rayon lecture, voici d’autres ouvrages m’ayant inspirée :

Greatness Doesn’t Start With Work/Life Balance – It starts with hard work and a passion for the business

Grit: The power of passion and perseverance

Hyper performants mais pour combien de temps?

«Pourquoi voulez-vous cet emploi?» ou la question de l’intervieweur interviewé!